Changes

Standard

Over the past couple of years, the one constant has been change. That’s actually normal, but it hasn’t felt like it has been possible to achieve any ‘new normal’ in that time.

Two beloved dogs have died. I retired. I have watched my mother retreat into a body and mind that have both failed her.

Now that I am spending more time at home, I’m beginning the process to quit deferring all of that deferred maintenance on the house. And trying to clear the stacks of debris that accumulated all those years that too much work and all of those dogs allowed me to ignore the paper and miscellany that kept propagating mysteriously all over the house. And working my way through the books that have waited so patiently for attention.

But uncontrolled change keeps popping up, too. One of my dogs is not aging well. The other two, while healthy and active, are also reaching ages where concerns and expectations are different. Each day is precious.

Sometime in the next week or so, I will become a grandmother. I am thrilled beyond measure, which makes it hard not to harass my son for constant updates. Or hover. They will need to find their new normal with as few external pressures as possible. I just hope that this new family knows how much each of them is loved. Beyond measure.

May all new normals be filled with joy and hope and love and laughter.

 

3 thoughts on “Changes

  1. I am dealing with many of these issues too. Retirement I’ve found is not an extended vacation (although I’ve tried to make it that). One must have purpose in life and retirement from the workaday world gives us the opportunity to do new things. I get to spend more time with the pups. Go for. Long walks. Plan trips to see my grandsons. Read. Definitely need to to spend less time on Favebook although it’s hard. It’s actually amazing that you can make friends all over the world. People that challenge your worldview and have different aspirations.

    Btw: didn’t know you had a blog. I will be visiting and commenting. You may not like everything I say and vice versa but I’ll respect (and defend) your right to your own opinion if you do mine. Come on over If you’ve a mind when I get it resurrected again. http://Www.alternatevoice.com. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

